Your browser is not supported. Please update it.

Victory: President’s Trophy Round 1!

Victory: President’s Trophy Round 1

Match played at Bude GC on Sunday 29th October

Just three weeks after there success in their preliminary round match, the President’s Trophy team of Quinn Bateman, Neil Bradley, Dave Collick, Kai Dingle, Keith Hawke, Phil Hoare, Dave Hollyoak,
Neil Robinson and Mike Smith arrived at Bude GC to play a strong and confident side from China Fleet in the 1st Round proper of this seasons competition.

Although St Enodoc had a couple of early wins from Keith Hawke and Mike Smith it was clear that the China Fleet team were definitely up for the fight with the rest of the games being extremely tight, and with the lead in many of the other games frequently swapping first one way then the other, unsurprisingly 6 of the remaining games were not resolved until either the 17th or 18th. However, I am delighted to report that the St Enodoc team proved to be the stronger side on the day eventually winning the match 7.5 – 1.5.

Thankfully, although the wind grew in strength throughout the day, the rain stayed away for most the of the match, which made for ideal playing conditions. The match was both extremely competitive and very exciting to watch, it was played in great spirit – a credit to both teams.

The team can now look forward to playing Falmouth GC in the second round at the beginning of December.

Mike Roach
President’s Trophy Captain