St. Enodoc Golf Club - The Chicken Chase

St Enodoc Ladies have been busy during the build up to Christmas with knockouts to decide their representives in the National Daily Mail Foursomes, a Dallas Scramble on Tuesday and culminating in the annual Chicken Chase on Saturday. In the Daily Mail Foursomes Julie Smith and Mary Baillie came out the winners and will go through to the national knockouts next year.

 The Dallas Scramble on the Church Course was won by Terri Gliddon, Sue Foster, Mary Baillie and Jane Pain with an emphatic nett 41.3. The runners-up were Lynn Ashcroft, Maxine Rich, Janine Clagett and Celia Jarvis with 45.4 on countback. On the Holywell Course Jayne Brenton and “The Mary\'s” - Mary Hooper, Mary Killingley and Mary Hibbert were the winners.

 The Chicken Chase - what a wonderfully happy and enjoyable day! Players from both courses amalgamated to play a 4 ball Dallas Scramble on the Holywell Course. The weather looked promising if a little chilly but unfortunately we did not get into the clubhouse before some sharp showers came over. However, nothing dampens the spirits of the St Enodoc ladies on this special day and some brilliant scores came in. This was helped by “Santas Little Helpers” on the 8th Tee (Celia Jarvis and Annie Hawkey) serving port and chocolates to all the players together with some enthusiastic cheering of drives and the odd Christmas Carol!! Prizes were distributed in the restaurant by our new Ladies Captain Penny Moon and her Vice Captain Lynn Ashcroft following a lovely roast turkey meal, some festive “fun” amongst the ladies and a rousing rendition of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” led by our own choirmaster Jan Townsend.

 The winning team with a fantastic score of nett 53.6 was led by Barbara Graham (named as the “mother hen”) and supported by her “chicks” - Rhiannon Rich (who was also a winner in the Turkey Trot), Jane Pain and Sue Walker. In Second Place were Jane Bendall, Viv Steer, Anne Irons and Jaye Guest with 54.2. Third Place was taken by Trudi Tremaine, Lorna Harper, Lauren Williams and Mary Killingley. Further prizes were awarded down to 6th place to Sarah Sandercock\'s team of Bobbie Rounsevell, Anne Crossley and Annie Matthews, Jan Derry\'s Team of Gloria Crouch, Sue Moore and Freda Wherry, and Terri Gliddon\'s Team of Sue Foster, Gill Goodright and Janet Townsend. The draw for a personal parking space for a year was won by Larry Barnecutt, the proceeds of which go to the Ladies Captain\'s Charity. What a great day and a big thank you to all those whose hard work helped to make it so!!