St. Enodoc Golf Club - Seniors Open October 3rd 2011

Thirteen fourballs set off from the 1st tee and another thirteen from the 9th tee from 10.00 a.m. to compete for the Norman Walmsley Trophy in glorious sunshine thankful that our Indian summer had lasted another day.  Two hours later, as the dampening sea-mist advanced inexorably towards the course and the gentle zephyr transformed itself into a gusting wind, the game of golf became a different challenge and a few scores suffered as a result.  However, some continued as if the sun was still shining and returned very creditable scores clearly reflected by those on the podium.  Grateful thanks were expressed to John Godwin and his team for the flawless organisation and to all the Club staff for the exceptional course, catering and bar service.

Winners    Chris Allen & Bob Nesbitt (Yelverton)            45 points
2nd        Keith Godfrey & Peter Godfrey (St. Enodoc)        42
3rd        John Pascoe & Mick Draper (Yelverton)            41
4th        David Elliott (St. Enodoc) & John Elliott (Bigbury)        40
5th        Mick Heaton & Mike Nancekivell (St. Mellion)        39

It was a good year for Yelverton and pairs of brothers, and also for St. Mellion for whom Mike Whitehouse won the Longest Drive and John Hicks the Nearest the Pin. There were nine twos each of which gained its perpetrator 16 golf balls.

In view of the continuing popularity of this event which is always substantially over-subscribed there will be ballots for both Home and Visitor applications next year.