St. Enodoc Golf Club - Seniors\' End of Seasonfest

Seniors\' End of Seasonfest

On Friday, 25th October, the Seniors’ turned out for their end of season jolly involving annual competitions on both courses – the Len Howarth Trophy on the Holywell and the Dudley Watts Trophy on the Church Course.

Word from the Holywell was that the competition was played in the same conditions as on the Church, but by generally more venerable (and that adjective was challenged by some playing the Church Course) and decrepit (that was not challenged !) competitors. The weather was more or less dry, but the high winds blew flotsam and jetsam all over the place, nevertheless the scores generally at least matched those on the Church.

The top three scores were worthy of note. John Baxter was seen adopting a very short swing and occasionally putting both hands to his back in composing a very creditable 33 pts. Ian Boyd rolled around in his buggy hitting the ball long and straight, but 3 putting wildly to achieve 35 pts. The Trophy was won with very steady play by David Balmford whose score of 37 pts was the only one on either course to beat par !

Meanwhile, the Churchgoers – on a more exposed course they claim – were having to contend with an ever increasing wind, which from the 10th onwards was described as brutal, this being reflected in the scores. In fact, no player managed to score more points on the back than on the front, although all the stalwarts completed the examination in true style encouraged, no doubt by the prospect of a glass of free wine awaiting them in the clubhouse ! In-coming Seniors’ Captain, Nigel Thomas (31 pts) took home the Trophy with John Radford (28 pts) chasing him home in second place.

The Seniors’ AGM was then held at which the 2013 prizes were awarded:

The Girling-Sandry Salver (Holywell Matchplay):
Winner: Derek Kingsbury - defeated David Balmford
The Frank Harper Trophy (Church Matchplay):
Winner Ian Boyd - defeated Paul Godfrey
Holywell Eclectic: 1st Tyrrell Sandry 2nd Roy Darnell
Church Eclectic Net:
1st Jim Crouch (56) 2nd David Ramsbottom (56) 3rd Frank Harper (57)
Church Eclectic Gross:
1st Mike Maberley (68) 2nd Nigel Thomas (71) 3rd Frank Harper (71)
Len Howarth Trophy (Holywell)
1st David Balmford (37 pts) 2nd Ian Boyd (35pts) NTP Dermot Studd
Dudley Watts Trophy (Church)
1st Nigel Thomas (31 pts) 2nd John Radford (28 pts) NTP Kevin Birkett

And the long day concluded when the well-dressed old boys repaired to the dining room to enjoy the usual high quality dinner, the wine and a significant helping of merriment.

Seniors Captain Peter Commings (left) presents the Len Howarth Trophy to David Balmford