St. Enodoc Golf Club - Seniors? AGM 2015 Results and Presentations

Seniors? AGM 2015 Results and Presentations

The Seniors’ Section held their AGM and dinner on Monday, 28th September, following the two annual competitions, the Dudley Watts Trophy (Church) and the Len Howarth Trophy (Holywell) (the latter reported separately on the website).

Another well attended meeting, in the presence of Club Captain, David Elliott and Club Chairman, Malcolm Cole was chaired efficiently by retiring Seniors’ Captain, Richard Parsons, who juggled successfully to restrain a lively membership and the demands of a flexible agenda. This latter was the consequence of either some slow play, or one or two old boys enjoying a leisurely shower or finding their feet almost out of reach and suffering cramp in the contortions necessary to put on a pair of socks. Nevertheless, eventually, all the necessary formalities were completed even if strict committee procedures were occasionally by-passed.

Captain Richard’s report described a year of enthusiastic participation in Monday roll-ups involving a variety of competitive formats, but a lop-sided season in matches with other clubs. Apart from an embarrassing result against RND, the home record was excellent, but victories in away matches were at a premium. He paid generous tribute to Tony Mindel who was standing down after 5 years as Senior’s Secretary, a role he filled with an ease and efficiency which surely was the envy of many other clubs. However, the committee has set his transfer fee so high that only F A Clubs could afford him leaving him free to apply his talents within the Club as Vice-Captain for the next two years. Richard presented Tony with a pair of mounted whisky tumblers to mark the appreciation of the Section.

Tony’s final report as Secretary is attached to the Minutes, and in keeping with his own tradition was full of amusing observations, arcane statistics and gentle leg-pulling. This latter, like the regular banter, is surely, an indication of the friendly fellowship that characterizes this section. Thus his references to a remote controlled trolley which runs riot on the course; to a pair of shorts that have been donated (in truth, confiscated !) for the committee to make 16 pairs of team shorts and to the ability of another member whose talent in talking the opposition into defeat, were all received warmly. On behalf of the Section, he also thanked Richard for his easy and effective leadership over the year.

In Mike Jarvis’s enforced absence, Harry Gliddon, when giving the Treasurer’s report, echoed the sentiments of every member, in wishing Mike an early and complete recovery. He was able to report that the financial position is very sound.

All the speakers expressed deep gratitude to the Club, its officers and staff for their support for the Section and also for their work in making the Club the envy of so many in the golfing world.

Elected Officers for 2015-16

Captain: Paul Godfrey
Vice-captain: Keith Hawke
Secretary: Kevin Birkett
Treasurer: Harry Gliddon
Committee: David Balmford, John Harbinson, Richard Parsons, Derek Rushton, Tyrrell Sandry,

Presentations and Winners 2015

Captain Richard presented Tee Peg and Old Hickory with engraved whisky tumblers in appreciation of their work on the Club website.

Holywell Eclectic: Derek Kingsbury 2nd Tyrrell Sandry

Church Winter Eclectic: Mike Kent 2nd Terry Johns

Church Summer Eclectic: David Ramsbottom 2nd Tony Mindel

Girling-Sandry Salver Matchplay (Holywell) : Derek Kingsbury beat Ian Boyd

Frank Harper Matchplay Trophy (Church): Colin Earle beat Keith Willmott

Len Howarth Trophy (Holywell): Ian McLellan 36 pts, Tyrrell Sandry 35 pts

Dudley Watts Trophy (Church): Steve Smith 33 pts, Nigel Thomas 32 pts

Club Captain David Elliott (l) presents the Dudley Watts Trophy to Steve Smith