St. Enodoc Golf Club - Lady Vets & Seniors Duck Dawdle

Lady Vets & Seniors Duck Dawdle

This event which grows in popularity each year was by no means a dawdle due to the cold, windy but dry conditions. Most people seemed to get round in good time and the scoring was pretty good. Congratulations go to Lorna and Henry for winning and commiserations to Sue and David for coming second on count back.

The meal afterwards was very jolly; there was lots of laughter; but there is always one table which overdoes it! (No names – no pack drill but there may be a few photos floating round the clubhouse). The speeches afterwards were succinct and all the organisers were thanked particularly Tony and Di Mindel who work so hard on these events. The prizes were very pertinent too ranging from almost live ducks, through Benducks mints to Duck\'s Fizz! All participants got a lovely new ball with the Dawdle logo.

Two stories of note. Lady Vets Captain Annie brought a whole new dimension to the old parrot joke – beautifully told. And then there is the story of one of the major prize winning ladies who forgot to give her husband\'s driver back. Not only that but he left his putter on the putting green and had to go back for it. I suppose we can condone one too many and one too few, can\'t we?

All in all it was a most successful and enjoyable day. There are rumours circulating to the effect that it may be a shotgun start next year. This is to combat the long waits of the early starters.


1st Lorna Harper and Henry Irons 46 points c/b

2nd Sue Richards and David Shapland 46 points

3rd Carole Carter and Malcolm Cole 43 points

4th Bridget Power and Derek Kingsbury 42 points c/b

5th Mary Hooper and Tyrrell Sandry 42 points

6th Ann Worden and David Elliott 41 points

7th Mary Baillie and Tony Rounsevell 40 points c/b

8th Beth Elliott and Peter Meredith 40 points

9th Meg Godfrey and Ian Hall 39 points c/b

10th Anne Irons and David Balmford 39 points

Nearest the pin:

Ladies - 4th Barbara Robson   Gentlemen 5th Tony Rounsevell

Ladies 15th Mary Hooper    Gentlemen 18th David Elliott