St. Enodoc Golf Club - Ladies Stroke Play Club Championship and Clark Cup

The St Enodoc Ladies played for the Clark Cup on the Church Course on Tuesday 4th September. This is a Stableford competition and the trophy was won by Tamsin Blake with 35 points on countback from runner-up Jane Bendall. On the Holywell Course a Beason Cup Medal Competition was played. This was won by Jayne Brenton with a Nett 64. In second place was Mary Killingley with Nett 67 and in third was Mary Bower with a Nett 68.

On Sunday the Club Championships were played on the Church Course. The format is 36 holes Medal and a field of 14 took part. The conditions were good for most of the day but the wind gained strength as the afternoon progressed. The morning round saw some great golf with Sue Willmott scoring a brilliant Nett 68 closely followed by Larry Barnecutt on Nett 69. They will obviously see their handicaps cut considerably which they well deserve. Jenny Justice played some lovely golf off a handicap of 4 to win the scratch prize, the Ladies Strokeplay Championship Trophy, with a 36 hole score of 160. Jenny started to play golf at St Enodoc aged 11 in the school holiday\'s Sunday mornings golf classes run by then Assistant Pro Andy Simpson and has been a Member since the mid 80s. St Enodoc was her only club until she joined Walton Heath after university since when she soon became a regular Member of the Surrey Ladies team and in 2011 won the Surrey Scratch Foursomes. Work and two small children have now rather eaten into her golfing time.

The runner-up was Sue Ofield with 169. The Ladies Centenary Cup for the best nett score over 36 holes was won by Sue Willmott with a Nett 147 with Jean Tatum runner-up on Nett 158. Larry Barnecutt won the Barbara Wills Trophy for the best morning round with a Gross 86 - Nett 69. The prize for the most improved morning/afternoon round went to Lynn Ashcroft with a morning score of Nett 93 and afternoon Nett 88. Barbara Robson, who donated the Strokeplay Trophy, kindly attended the prize giving to make the relevant presentations and Penny Moon thanked all those who took part for their dedication and determination in entering this 36 hole competition.


All the prizewinners Lynn Ashcroft, Jean Tatum, Jenny Justice, Sue Willmott, Larry Barnecutt, Sue Ofield

We will now be focussing on the final of the Gammon Trophy against Tehidy at Trevose Golf Club on Sunday 16 September.