St. Enodoc Golf Club - Junior Captain\'s Day

There was standing room only on Junior Captain\'s Day on November 27th as Junior players and families attended the presentation ceremony, bringing to a close the Junior Academy\'s programme for the year. Retiring Captain Lauren Williams ably assisted by Vice-Captain Anna Clagett presented the prizes. They finish their term of office having led the Academy team to the finals of the National Junior Team Championships at Woodhall Spa in August as well as finishing third in The County Bolitho Shield. They now progress onto the senior ranks within the Club.

There were competitions on the Church and Holywell courses and even the very strong wind did little to dampen the youngsters\' enthusiasm. Girls and Boys competed for the North Cornwall Advertiser Stableford Cups with The Godfrey Cups being awarded to the best gross in each category on the Church course. The younger players competed on The Holywell course in a limited hole team Texas scramble for the Dr Geake Cup and The Junior Shield.

Result of The Day\'s competitions:
    N.C.A Cup Boys- Jake Sanders
    N.C.A Cup Girls- Shannon Ashcroft
    Godfrey Scratch Cup Boys- Mickey McElvey
    Godfrey Scratch Cup Girls- Lauren Williams
    Dr Geake Cup- Riley Helleur, Jamie Beare and Riona McGahan
    Junior Shield- Bradley Nicholls, Jaimee Sales, George Hanson and Shani Harbour

Each of the winners received a replica along with a box of chocolates. Every competitor on the day was presented with a chocolate lollipop from Geraldine and Joe Keohane of Brownes Chocolates and a bag of balls which had been kindly donated by the Ladies\' section.

Presentations were also made to those Junior players who had won specific competitions during the year. As part of the Academy programme the youngsters participate in the skills activities focusing on putting and chipping. Scores are recorded throughout the year with the best five scores being taken for an award. The top score would qualify for a trophy, though all scores presented qualify for a certificate, in total there were 22 Gold, 23 Silver, 10 Bronze and 30 Merits. Every 4th session in the programme will see the youngsters playing on the Holywell in an eclectic limited hole competition.

Results for the Year:
    Masters Cup- Jake Sanders
    Masters Plate- Richard Forshaw
    C.R.W. Cup- Charlie Edwards
    Peter Richards Cup (Putting grp.1)- Ben Chick
    Alan Baillie Cup (Putting grp.2)- Max Eason
    Roy Dingle Shield (Putting grp.3)- Charlie Edwards
    Nightingale Cups (Chipping grp.1)- Alex Corbin
    Cullinan Cup (Chipping grp.2)- Becca Beare
    Junior Cup (Chipping grp.3)- Thomas Cole
    Cole Cup (Eclectic grp.1)- Liam Parsons
    Warrick Cup (Eclectic grp.2)- Callum Malcolmson
    Malcolm Jones Shield (Eclectic grp.3)- William Hanson


John Baxter with Malcolm Jones Shield winner William Hanson

New Junior Captain Jake Sanders, along with Vice-Captain Sam Jarvis presented all recipients with their certificates. Jake went on to make his inaugural speech and presented Lynn Ashcroft with a bouquet, David Elliott with a fine bottle of port and Mike Jarvis and Kenton Williams with a much appreciated bottle of wine. Captain John Baxter brought proceedings to a close. As well as thanking all for attending and wishing all a safe journey home the Club Captain made reference to the success of the Academy due mainly to the help and assistance provided by the growing number of adult members at the Club. He also mentioned that Junior players had gone on to play for the Club teams this season and made particular reference to Sam Jarvis winning the Club\'s order of merit.