St. Enodoc Golf Club - Junior Captain\'s Day

Sunday 25th November was the finale of the Junior Academy\'s year with Junior Captain\'s Day which despite 4 inches of rain in the previous 4 days was just able to be played before the rains came down again. A Mixture of golf was played on both courses and skills for the younger players resulted in the Clubhouse being packed with players, their parents and the large number of Club Members, who had given up their time to help, for the presentations of trophies and skills awards.

Kenton Williams opened the proceedings outlining next year\'s programme which starts in March 2013 and which should have a greater emphasis on course play. Having said that trophies as well as skills awards for both putting and chipping were presented to Riley Helleur, Charlie Edwards and Jack Chudleigh for putting and Samuel Thomas, Thomas Cole and Ryan Dickson for chipping. The 2 Eclectic Cups were presented to Aljo Cock and Charlie Jenkins. There were also skills awards of Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit presented representing the standards reached.

The most proficient and older Juniors played 12 holes on the Church course and saw the Boys Stableford for the N.C.A Cup won by Jake Sanders with 19 points and Shannon Ashcroft the Girls with 23 points; Shannon also won the Girls Gross for the Godfrey Cup and Sam Jarvis the Boys.


Holywell winners Bailey Burton, Thomas Cole, Charlie Edwards and Callum Malcolmson
with Junior Captain Jake Sanders ansd 2013 Junior Captain Sam Jarvis behind.

On the Holywell a Texas Scramble was played but reduced to 9 holes as part of the course was flooded which was won by the team of Callum Malcolmson, Bailey Burton, Thomas Cole and Charlie Edwards from the team of Zak Burt, Millie Yoki and Fergal Donnellon with Aljo Cock, Charlie Jenkins and Nimh Keohane third.

Kenton also wanted to thank all the other volunteers who at the drop of a hat come and help John Bower, Steve Cock, Maggie Day, Frank Harper, Simon Pain, Maxine and Will Rich and Steve Smith. The efforts of the organising team of Mark Arrowsmith and David Elliott on the coaching and Kenton Williams, Lynn Ashcroft, Julie Smith and Mike Jarvis were both appreciated and acknowledged without whose efforts the Academy would have been the great success that it has become with a waiting list of youngsters eager to learn and enjoy the game of golf.