St. Enodoc Golf Club - Embedded ball in the face of a bunker

Embedded ball in the face of a bunker

The photograph above, kindly provided by John Carhart, illustrates a little local difficulty that a Member of the \"Farmers\" Thursday golf group found himself in this week.

The golfer involved chose to drop the ball in the bunker, without penalty. He scored 5 for the hole - the par 3 eighth. Was his choice correct ? What would you have done ?

Knowing how popular these bunkers are and that the odds of the same incident occuring again must be quite low a quick read of the Rule book might be in order.