St. Enodoc Golf Club - Dudley Watts Stableford, Len Howarth Holywell Stableford & Seniors AGM

Dudley Watts Stableford,  Len Howarth Holywell Stableford & Seniors AGM

The mood of the Seniors as they gathered around the St Enodoc lounge on Monday 26th September was far from enthusiastic. Many had located the central heating switches at home, or had built up their supply of logs for the wood burning stoves, or fondly remembered the warmth emitting from their Agas, as they gazed out of the window at swirling clouds and a grey mist concealing Stepper Point. A heavy downpour had encouraged several to question the wisdom of even stepping on to the first tee, but Captain Paul Godfrey was adamant that the competitions proceed. The day had been planned in detail for some time. There was no alternative.

With some adjustments to the groupings, owing to some absentees, each group donned layers of waterproofs, made a few practice swings, and disappeared into the misty rain. Several must have recollected Henry V,

“For he that plays golf with me today shall be my brother; be he never so vile, this day shall gentle his condition, and those Seniors now a-bed, shall think themselves accursed that they were not here, and hold their man hoods cheap whiles any speak that played golf on this Paul Godfrey’s last day as Captain.”

The weather remained challenging throughout the day with only the briefest interlude of calm. Nevertheless, Keith Hawke came in with a commendable 31 points but he was pipped to the Dudley Watts trophy by Nigel Thomas with 33 points. John Godwin won the Len Howarth trophy with 34 points some 21 years after he had won the Dudley Watts.

The AGM began with its usual sense of closure, and yet pondering in thoughtful contemplation about the future, as Paul stepped down as Captain, to be replaced by Keith Hawke. Steve Smith becomes the Vice-Captain. Kevin Birkett handed over the secretarial duties to David Ramsbottom. Harry Gliddon continued in the duties of treasurer and the new committee was elected without opposition. The meeting stood in silence to remember Bill Comyn, David Bentley and Mike Jarvis who had died during recent weeks. Discussion took place over some proposals about the nature of Senior competitions and a variation on our match schedule. The meeting accepted the proposal that Representative Senior teams should be partially sponsored. The Senior section of St Enodoc is in a healthy and vibrant state as it strides into the coming year.

John Godwin receives the Len Howarth Trophy from Club Captain David Elliott