St. Enodoc Golf Club - Duck Dawdle 2016

Duck Dawdle 2016

The Holywell Duck Dawdle got under way with a shotgun start at 10.00hrs on Friday 18th. Everybody started off in high spirits on a cold and drafty morning with a forecast of light showers.

The first 10 holes or so were played in good conditions and many competitors made the most of it. High scores were being recorded in the three to count out of four format.

Then there was a shower. Light was an inappropriate description to say the least with long gusts and hail. After that we were rewarded by much better weather to allow us to get in dry, and the good scoring continued. Totals ranged from 85 to 119 with a few competitors making a personal contribution of 40 points despite the recently tined greens!

The meal was taken at 15.00hrs with duck on the menu of course. Lady Vets Captain, Pamela Hall, welcomed everybody to commence the prize giving and then handed over to David Balmford who offered himself as MC when the Seniors Captain and Vice-Captain opted out offering their apologies! A short speech and a singing lesson were lightheartedly given after he had thanked all those who had helped with the not inconsiderable organisation, Annie Matthews' beautifully presented prizes were much admired.

Mike Parry as Captain of the winning team was enthusiastic about this event and the similar Lamb Gambol to be held in the Spring. He also thanked Ian and his team for the great meal and also the greens staff for keeping the courses in such spanking condition but wondered why they had not swept up the hail!

NP 4th Lorna Harper NP 5th Mike Roach

NP 16th Margaret Godwin NP 18th Terry Buscombe

5th Prize Anne Humphreys, Lorna Harper, Nigel Gallagher, Richard Norsworthy.

109 pts Roll of Duck Tape

4th Prize Cath Buscombe, Anne Mayne, Ken Metcalf, Roger Priestley.

109 pts Duck Pate & Goose Beer.

3rd Prize Brenda Sandry, Nan Girling, John Godwin, John Russell,

111 pts Duck Breast & wine

2nd Prize Gloria Crouch, Bobby Rounsavell, Terry Buscombe, John Radford.

118 pts Small Duck & wine

1st Prize Anne Irons, Janet Walton, Mike Parry, Derek Rushton.

119 pts Large Duck &Wine