St. Enodoc Golf Club - Colonels/Metrople Cup Series 2013 Final Round & Battle Trophy Round 6

Saturday 21st September saw the culmination of both the Colonels and Metropole Cups with the ninth and final round being played in warm conditions with only a light wind blowing.

Robbie Moore went one better than last years Second Place in the Colonels Cup to be crowned Colonels Champion 2013. Robbie’s consistently good golf throughout the year insured he had a comfortable lead going into the final round and one which never looked like being challenged with Robbie securing the title by 3 clear series points.

Things were altogether tighter in the Metropole Series with both Dave Flew and Kevin Richards finishing with 72 series points meaning they could only be separated by looking at who had the 5th best series score with Dave’s 15 point score beating Kevin’s 14 point score to leave Dave as Metropole Champion 2013.

Scoring on the day was very good with some excellent scores posted, none better than David Derry’s brilliant 41 points in the Colonels Division. David’ s score secured 1st Place by 2 points from Julian Darnell whose score of 39 points would have been good enough for First Place most weeks and rounding out a very competitive top three was Rod Frost with a score of 37 points.

Andy Golding took top spot in the Metropole Division with his 38 points being good enough to pip Keith Willmott by a point with Keith returning a score of 37 points which was followed by Terry Johns in Third Place with a score of 35 points.

Round 6 of the Battle Trophy played on Saturday 28th September got underway with a very strong wind blowing across the links although unusually their was a lull in the wind that saw it drop off completely for a few hours in the late morning before strengthening again in the afternoon.

With this being round 6 of a 7 round series members had one eye on the series standings going into this round and although things are tightly packed at the top Dan Witts has moved himself into a very good position after taking the maximum 20 series points on offer, securing First place on the day with an excellent gross score of 77 for a nett 67. Finishing a shot behind in Second Place was Nigel Buse whose gross 82, nett 68 contained an outward nine of 3 over par. John Rowe finished in Third Place shooting a gross 78 being reduced to a nett 69.