St. Enodoc Golf Club - Club Championships 2019

Club Championships 2019

The Club Championships took place over two days last weekend. A sizeable entry for both of the main competitions, but it wasn't just about The Club Champs as there was something for everyone! The headliner was a 36 hole medal competition for both the ladies and the gents, along with the rescheduled Bannerman Trophy, The Holywell Championship and a fun team competition on the Church Course. Last year in the Men's Championship it came down to a play off between Brandon Armitage and Josh Greenaway for which Brandon was the eventual winner. This year after a fantastic gross 69 on Saturday in Round 1 in what can only be described as brutal conditions all that was left to wonder was what would Josh Greenaway score in Round 2 and would this be his year! At the end of play on Saturday Josh was the gross leader and David Lupton leading the nett with 70. Sunday proved to be challenging, however David had both the best nett 72 and gross 75 for the day, but it wasn't quite enough for even though Josh had a gross 78 he finished ahead by one point to secure the Club Championship for 2019. All was not lost as David won the nett prize by six clear points with 142 and Stuart Fleet was Runner Up on 148. The most improved player between both rounds was Richard Hawken (gross 87 & 82) by 5 strokes.

Meanwhile in the Ladies, after Round 1 Penny Cartwright was leading in the nett competition with 75 and Caroline Hume-Kendall just behind on 76. However, the placing's were reversed in the gross with Caroline on 82 and Penny with 84. In both cases Kath Biddle was firmly in the chasing pack and anything could happen! Sunday turned out to be different entirely with Cath Hopkins taking top spot in the gross scoring with 91 on countback ensuring the Runner Up place in the Club Championship on a gross score of 179. Caroline kept up the pressure against the stiff opposition and an even stiffer wind, but with a two shot gross advantage after the first round and another day of tough conditions it was going to be tight. At the end of the second round Caroline also recorded a gross 91, but was beaten on countback for the day, but cemented her place as the Ladies Club Champion for 2019 with an overall total of 173. In the nett Larry Barnecutt had the best score for the day with 81 giving here the most improved between two rounds (gross 104 & 98) by 6 strokes, but having carded a 78 in the first round and a 83 in the second round Kath Biddle stealthily crept in to be the overall winner of the Centenary Cup with a total of 161. Penny wasn't far behind with rounds of 75 and 89 to give a total of 164 for Runner Up.

In the Holywell Championships there were fifteen entries this year made up of both junior and adult members. The one's to watch were our up and coming golfer's and for very good reason. The youngest entrant Quinn Bateman has had a busy golfing year along with his brother Liam and Daisy Lane who have represented St Enodoc in Junior events for club and county alike. It was no surpise then that Quinn scored a whopping 49 points and just missed out on countback for Runner Up to Daisy's dad no less! So, the Holywell Champion for 2019 is Robert Lane.

The Bannerman Trophy is not a usual fixture in the Championship weekend, but it seemed the ideal time for it to be rescheduled. Ten mixed pairings tee'd up to win this year's title and again it was lovely to see some of the junior's taking part. The winners this year were Annie Cruse & Dave Oldham with 39 points and Runners Up were the grandaughter and grandad duo Megan Prideaux & Stuart Sandercock with 37 points.

Congratulations to everyone in the prizes and thank you to everyone that took part especially in such tough conditions.

Men's Club Championship
Meagor Medal - 36 Hole Gross
Winner - Josh Greenaway - 147
Runner Up - David Lupton - 148

36 Hole Nett
Winner - David Lupton - 142
Runner Up - Stuart Fleet - 148

Most Improved 1st to 2nd Round Score -
Winner - Richard Hawken - 5 strokes

Ladies Club Championship
36 Hole Gross

Winner - Caroline Hume-Kendall - 173
Runner Up - Cath Hopkins - 179

Centenary Cup - 36 Hole Nett
Winner - Kath Biddle - 161
Runner Up - Penny Cartwright - 164

Most Improved 1st to 2nd Round Score -
Winner - Larry Barnecutt - 6 strokes

Holywell Championships
Winner - Robert Lane - 49pts (on countback)
Runner Up - Quinn Bateman - 49pts

Bannerman Trophy
Winners - Annie Cruse & Dave Oldham - 39pts
Runners Up - Megan Prideaux & Stuart Sandercock - 37pts

For those that didn't take part in the Club Championship there was the opportunity to play in the '666' Competition. Ten teams entered and there were three prizes and the results were as follows:

Winners - Andy Beare, Andy Griffiths & Nigel Ahearn - 68pts
Runners Up - Andy Bunt, Russell Combellack & Tom Wills - 63pts (on countback)
Third Place - Jamie Beare, Tris Lang & John Rowe - 63pts (on countback)