St. Enodoc Golf Club - Club Championship Weekend

The Men’s and Ladies Club Championship’s are being played over two weekends this year.  This Saturday saw the first round of the Magor Gold Medal, the 36 hole, gross competiton off the blue tees.   The Woodcote Park Cup, the 18 hole nett competition played off the white tee and also the Ladies Barbara Robson Trophy being played over 36 holes.

The weather was fabulous for the day of competition with the wind increasing slightly through the afternoon.  The Course was in great shape too, with some very challenging pin positions!

Nigel Thomas is this year’s winner of the Woodcote Park Cup, his nett score of 69 will get his name on the honours board for the second time, matching his win in 2011.   Paul Honey came in 2nd with a nett 71 beating Will Rich on countback into 3rd place.  Derek Rushton, Stuart Morley and Danny Hoare all returned with nett 72 to take 4th, 5th and 6th positions and Dave Pooley and Shaun Beare took 7th and 8th with nett 73 on countback. 

Joe Cruse is currently leading the Magor Gold Medal, he shot 74 on Saturday to finished just ahead of Steve Buse who score 75.  Josh Greenaway is in 3rd place after the first round having scored 78, ahead of Joe Combellack on countback who is 4th.  Cruser has won 3 times previously, Steve is yet to get his name on the board.  Josh won last year and Bunty who currently sits in 11th place won back in 2002.  The second round, next Saturday, will be fiercely fought.