St. Enodoc Golf Club - Annual General Meeting

Annual General Meeting

The AGM took place on Saturday 19th April after a fine day for the traditional Am-Am golf which preceeded it. The Chairman, John Radford, opened proceedings by thanking Malcolm Cole who is retiring from the Management Committee having served in many capacities including Captain since 1988. He pointed out that despite the weather over the last 12 months the courses were in excellent condition and it was as a result of everyone\'s hard work that we have enjoyed the tremendous accolade of being voted into the World\'s Top 100 courses by the authoratative \"Golf Digest\". He also said that the major refurbishment work of the Clubhouse should be completed within the next month. A transcript of the speech is under Extras. The Treasurer, David Pooley, followed and reported a strong financial situation with costs very well controlled in all departments but with a reduction of some 4% in Green Fee income which is considerably less than the average of most clubs of about 15%.

The Captain, Tony Rounsevell followed and paid thanks to retiring Committee Members Terri Gliddon and Mike Buse and went on to record some of the St Enodoc successes in winning the Maxam Cup, County successes for Pete Liddicoat and Kevin Parker, Perranporth Foursomes winners John Pease and Kevin Brenton and Joe Cruse and Rob Davies representing the County who won the Channel League. This year St Enodoc will be hosting the English Women\'s Amateur Championship in mid July.

Sue Ofield and Rob Davies receive their Club Champions trophies from President Baroness Seccombe

The President , Baroness Seccombe, presented the two Club Champions Rob Davies and Sue Ofield with their trophies. There then followed the election of new Committee Members Jane Bendall and Bob Cruse to the Captain\'s Committee and Julian Darnell to the Management Committee all of whom were unopposed.

The final part of the proceedings was the announcement of the results of the Am-Am which saw a full field of 18 teams of four take part in a Stableford with the best 2 scores to count off 3/4 handicap. The weather was bright and sunny, if not too warm, with a wind you knew was there and with the course in excellent shape and the greens fast and true there were some excellent scores. Those in the prizes were:-

    1st Mike Buse, Simon Pain, Larry Barnecutt & Norman Hawkey    83 pts
    2nd Myles Ellott, Nigel Buse, Jane Bendall & Janine Clagett           79 pts
    3rd Ed Hobbs, Jax Buse, David Elliott & Richard Heis                     79 pts
    4th Jo Gadney, Heather Webber, Mark Richards & Mike Kent       79 pts