St. Enodoc Golf Club - Annual General Meeting 15th April 2017

Annual General Meeting 15th April 2017

It was a packed house for an emotional AGM since it will the last year under General Manager Tuck Clagett. Throughout the meeting plaudits for Tuck came from every speaker - the President, the Chairman, the Treasurer and Captain. In response Tuck spoke eloquently about his 15 years in office. Towards the end of the meeting Simon Greatorex who takes over in June was introduced to the Members. During the meeting it was proposed that Tuck be made an Honorary Member which, not surprisingly, was passed Unanimously!

The Meeting commenced with the elections for which there were ballots for both Committees and Norman Evans and Jack Irwin were elected to the Captain’s Committee and Geoff Jones to the Management Committee. Julian Darnell was confirmed as Chairman, David Pooley for his final year as Hon. Treasurer, Tony Mindel as Captain with Bob Cruse as Vice-Captain.

Julian Darnell as Chairman thanked Malcolm Cole, from whom he took over at very short notice in the Summer, and was delighted to report that Malcolm was making an excellent recovery and he hoped to see him back playing soon. In his speech he touched upon the next major project of updating the two locker rooms and how appreciative he was of Tuck’s work and he looked forward to welcoming Simon Greatorex.

With such an excellent set of results, despite the small reduction in Green Fees and the additional cost of the new statutory pension provisions, the Hon. Treasurer David Pooley had no difficulty of confirming to the Members the healthy state of the Club’s finances. He then gave a very clear and mercifully short explanation of the VAT situation – not an easy task!

David Elliott, the outgoing Captain, summarised what had been an excellent year with Joe Cruse winning the County Championship and Cornwall, back in June, winning the South Western Counties at St Enodoc. He congratulated Sue Roworth on becoming the County Ladies Captain and thanked profusely Jane Bendall for the hard work she had put in on the membership waiting lists and the implementation of the Fairway membership category for younger local players which has got off to an excellent start. David also announced that his Captain’s charity, the MacMillan Cove at Treliske, has benefited to the tune of over £17,000.

The President Baroness Seccombe than congratulated the two Club Championship winners Joe Cruse and Kath Biddle along with Rob Cook winner of the season long Andrew Jolley Cup. In-coming Captain Tony Mindel made a brief speech announcing Bob Cruse as his Vice-Captain and that his charity will be the Cancer Trials Project at Treliske concentrating on three major areas Breast, Prostate and Bowel cancer.

It was an excellent AGM of a golf club in good shape to meet the challenges ahead, sadly saying good bye to a much appreciated General Manager but welcoming his successor.